What would you like to know?

The Library welcomes your questions. Please note that reference questions received from members of the Library are given first priority, and therefore, due to the volume of questions, we may not be able to treat reference queries from the general public as promptly as we would like.

Location & Hours

Directions

Public Transport

Metro : École Militaire (line 8), Alma-Marceau (line 9)
RER : Pont de l’Alma (line C) Station closed for renovation until January 2019
Bus Routes : 42, 63, 69, 80, 82, 87, 92

RATP website

Vélib'

Paris’s self service “bike hire” system.
Vélib’ stations close to the Library
How to use Vélib’

Parking

Saint Dominique – 3 min walk
Quai Branly – Tour Eiffel – 4 min walk
Joffre École Militaire – 9 min walk

Hours

Operating hours

Monday Closed
Tuesday 10h–19h
Wednesday 10h–19h
Thursday 10h–22h
Friday 10h–19h
Saturday 10h–19h
Sunday 13h–19h

Summer hours (Tue 16 July 2019 to Mon 26 August 2019):
Monday Closed
Tuesday–Saturday
13h–19h
Sunday Closed

The Library is open until 22h00 on Thursdays from September through 14 July. The Children’s Library and Teen Mezzanine are closed during late-night Thursdays, however books for children and teens can be retrieved upon request.

Holiday closures

The Library will be closed on these dates in 2019:

Sun 21 April – Easter (Pâques)
Wed 1 May – Labor Day (Fête du Travail)
Wed 8 May – WWII Victory Day (Fête de la Victoire 1945)
Thu 30 May – Ascension
Sun 14 July – Bastille Day
Thu 15 August – Assumption
Fri 1 November – All Saints’ Day (Toussaint)
Tue 24 December – Christmas Eve
Wed 25 December – Christmas Day
Thu 26 December – Holiday break
Fri 27 December – Holiday break
Sat 28 December – Holiday break
Sun 29 December – Holiday break
Tue 31 December – New Year’s Eve
Wed 1 January – New Year’s Day

The Library has reduced operating hours from mid-July until end-August.