The American Library in Paris Book Award


The 2015 American Library in Paris Book Award Winnter

The third annual Book Award, which carried a prize of $5000, was awarded to The Marquis: Lafayette Reconsidered by Laura Auricchio at the George C. Marshall Center on Friday 6 November. The choice of the winning book was made by the award jury, drawn from the Library’s Writers Council, this year consisting of Laura Furman, the chair, editor of the O. Henry Prize Stories since 2002; novelist and biographer Lily Tuck, winner of the National Book Award in Fiction; and Fredrik Logevall, author of Embers of War, winner of the first American Library in Paris Book Award in 2013.

The Library received 102 eligible submissions this year - 2015 Book Award List of Nominated Books. Book-length prose works originally written in English, including but not limited to fiction, history, biography, travel, politics, food, and art, are eligible for the award.

About the American Library in Paris Book Award

The American Library in Paris Book Award is given to the best book of the year in English about France or the French-American encounter.

The Library attracted and celebrated writers for all of its ninety-five years. The Library was created in part as a memorial to a young American poet, Alan Seeger, who wrote the well-known poem “I have a rendezvous with death” not long before he died in action in France in 1916. One of the Library’s founding trustees was Edith Wharton. Ernest Hemingway and Gertrude Stein, among many other writers of note, contributed reviews to the Library’s literary magazine, Ex Libris. Stephen Vincent Benet composed John Brown’s Body at the Library. And authors of every generation have worked and spoken at the Library: Ford Madox Ford, Archibald MacLeish, Colette, Henry Miller, André Gide, Anaïs Nin, James Baldwin, Irwin Shaw, James Jones, and Mary McCarthy, to name a few.

Today the Library is the pre-eminent center in Paris for evening talks by prominent authors who write in English. We now extend our commitment to outstanding writing by awarding an annual literary prize under the supervision of its Writer’s Council. A generous grant from the Florence Gould Foundation has allowed us to make this idea a reality.

The 2014 prize went to Robert Harris for his historical novel An Officer and a Spy. The 2013 prize was awarded to Fredrik Logevall for Embers of War: The Fall of an Empire and the Making of America’s Vietnam.


The Award is administered by the American Library in Paris and overseen by its Writers Council. The decision of the jury is final and no correspondence will be entered into regarding the judging process.

The 2016 American Library in Paris Book Award

The winner of the Award receives a prize of $5,000. He or she is invited to Paris, with air travel and accommodation at the Library’s expense, for an award ceremony in November and other Library functions, including a public reading and a writing workshop. For a list of frequently asked questions, please check The American Library in Paris Book Award FAQs.

Jury for the 2016 Award 

The Book Award jury is drawn from the Writers Council of the American Library in Paris. More information about the 2016 Book Award jury is forthcoming.


15 October 2015 Nominations open
1 May 2016 Nominations close
15 July 2016 Shortlist announced
November 2016 Winner announced at award ceremony in Paris


  • Any book-length prose fiction or nonfiction work, written originally in English, about France or the French-American encounter, will be considered by a committee of Award screeners.Nominated books must have been published between 1 July 2015 and 30 June 2016.
  • Anyone – author, publisher, agent, reader -- may nominate books for this award.
  • Books published exclusively in electronic form or on line are not eligible.
  • A reprint of a book first published in another year is not eligible.
  • Books by members of the Writers Council or screening committee are not eligible for the Award.

As soon as you know you would like to nominate a book, please email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. with the title of the book(s) and the estimated date the Library will receive the book(s). Please nominate and send books as early as possible. All nominated books must be postmarked and mailed the American Library in Paris no later than 1 May 2016.

  • Books may be submitted as finished copies, galleys or bound manuscripts. Galleys and bound manuscripts must be replaced by finished copies at time of publication.
  • A nomination entry is complete when the following have been received by the American Library in Paris:
    • Completed copy of .
      NOTE: A separate nomination form and fee must be received for each title nominated.
    • Five copies of each nominated book. Proof or reviewer’s copies are acceptable as long as the book’s publication date will fall before 30 June 2015.
    • The entry fee. Entry fees are accepted in euro checks (50 euros) or dollar checks ($70.00). An entry fee is expected of each book nominated. Please make checks payable to The American Library in Paris.
    • Selected promotional extracts or reviews of nominated books are welcome, but not required, as is a brief statement of why the book should be considered for the award.
    • All books, nomination forms and entry fees must be postmarked by 1 May 2015.

Please send books, nomination forms and entry fees to:

c/o The American Library in Paris
10, rue du Gėnėral Camou
75007 Paris

Phone number if needed by shipper:  +33 1 53 59 12 60

Books received will not be returned and become property of the American Library in Paris. Please check the Library website regularly for updates and more information on the process. The American Library in Paris Book Award is made possible by a generous gift from the Florence Gould Foundation.

Last modified on Tuesday, 10 November 2015 14:00